A Good Way to Resolve the Conflict

Because of a change in my work, I moved to a new office and met a new colleague, Lili. As we gradually became familiar with each other, we began to talk about everything together, such as our work, life, and family. Gradually our relationship grew closer and closer. In the blink of an eye, half a year had passed. But one day, something unexpected happened …

That day, Lili asked me to help modify her document. I found its subject was unclear and that its content was not innovative, so I gave her some advice. Unexpectedly, she didn’t take it, but rather said, “I wrote it by my years of work experience. You should carefully read and think more about the parts you didn’t understand. Don’t repudiate my idea before figuring it out. This really dented my confidence.” Upon hearing her words, I felt really upset, thinking, “You asked me to modify your document. Now I gave you my advice, yet you rejected it, and even asked me to think about your document carefully. How could you be so unreasonable?” Because of this matter, I formed a poor opinion of Lili, thinking that she couldn’t accept others’ advice. So since then, I didn’t want to open my heart to her anymore.

After a period of time, again Lili turned to me for advice on her document. Thinking of the unpleasant experience last time, I really didn’t want to help her, but for the sake of saving face, I still agreed. After reading her document, I told her my opinions about it, “If you write it according to the market demand, it will be convincing.” Hearing my words, Lili replied unhappily, “I did write the document according to the market demand. How could it not be convincing?” Her words were distasteful to me. Thinking that she was so self-righteous, I didn’t want to talk to her anymore. As our opinions were not aligned with each other, we couldn’t reach agreement and finally we ended this unpleasant talk in embarrassment.

After coming home from work, I sat alone on the sofa. When I recalled the scene when I was in conflict with Lili, especially the tone Lili spoke in, my heart became awfully choked. Since we worked in the same office, we couldn’t avoid meeting and talking with each other, yet I really didn’t know how to get along with her in the future. Haunted by this trouble, I couldn’t fall asleep at night. In distress, I prayed to God for a way out, “Oh God! I’m in conflict with my colleague because of disagreement. I’m so distressed. Oh God! Please lead and guide me.”

After prayer, I felt a bit calmer and realized that I was prejudiced toward Lili, which didn’t fit with the Lord’s will. The Lord Jesus said: “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is none other commandment greater than these” (Mark 12:30-31). The Lord taught us to love others as ourselves, have tolerance, and learn to forgive others. The words of the Lord showed me a path to practice: To get along with others, we should have love, patience, and tolerance toward others. If we always argue over trivial matters, we won’t work alongside others. I also thought of how the Lord didn’t despise us but forgave and had mercy on us when we did things not in line with His will. At this thought, I decided to follow the example of the Lord Jesus and resolve the conflict between Lili and me with love.

Later, I saw such words of the Lord Jesus: “And why behold you the mote that is in your brother’s eye, but consider not the beam that is in your own eye?” (Matthew 7:3). Seeing these words, I reflected on myself, “I always fixated my eyes on Lili but never knew myself. When I gave her advice, I wanted her to take it; but when she didn’t, I was prejudiced toward her. Everyone is free to choose; I am in no position to force others to listen to me. I’m too arrogant.” When I thought carefully, I realized that Lili had expended a lot of time and efforts on her document. So, she must be very unhappy when I repudiated it. It was understandable for her to treat me that way, for I was not considerate toward her.

The next day, I took the initiative to talk with Lili, during which I apologized to her for causing her harm and admitted that I had no love for her before. After hearing my words, she generously forgave me and at that time, I felt relieved. Then I asked her to point out my shortcomings. Not expecting I would say that, she said, much affected, “Actually it’s not all your fault; I’m also wrong. I shouldn’t have stuck to my opinions. From now on, let’s help each other.” Hearing this, I nodded, and we both smiled.

Thank the Lord! It was from the Lord’s word that I found a good way to resolve our conflict and it was the Lord that helped us form an everlasting friendship.

By Shiyi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

化解矛盾的「良藥」

工作調整後,我搬到一個新的辦公室,接觸到了新同事麗麗。我們一起談工作,聊人生,聊家庭,無話不談,很快彼此就熟悉了,關係也越來越近,轉眼半年就過去了。突然有一天,意想不到的事發生了……

一天,麗麗寫好文案讓我幫忙修改,我看到文案的主題思路不清晰,內容也沒有創新的地方,於是我提出了一些修改建議。沒想到麗麗不但不接受,反而說道:「看不明白的地方,可以用心多看幾次,那可是靠我幾年的工作經驗寫出來的。你如果沒弄清就否了我的思路,會讓我對自己失去信心的……」聽著麗麗這麼一說,我心裡很難受:你讓我給提修改意見,我說了你又不接受,還讓我琢磨,你這人怎麼這麼不講理呀!……因著這事,我對麗麗有了看法,覺得她這人不容易接受別人的意見 ,也不願再和她談心聊天了。

過了一段時間,麗麗又讓我幫忙看一份文案,想到上次的不愉快,我就不想幫她改了,但礙於臉面我還是答應了。看過文案後,我就找麗麗談我對文案的看法:「要了解消費者的需要,寫出來的文案才有說服力。」麗麗帶著情緒說:「我就是根據市場需要寫的文案,難道沒有說服力嗎?」 我聽後心裡很不是滋味,覺得麗麗太自是了,就不想理她了。就這樣我倆因觀點不同,達不到一致,弄得場面很尷尬,只好不歡而散。
下班回到家,我獨坐在沙發上,想起當時的情景和麗麗說話的口氣,心裡就堵得慌,同在一個屋簷下,低頭不見抬頭見,真不知接下來該如何面對麗麗。因著這件事,我被攪得晚上難以入睡,痛苦中我向神禱告尋求出路:「神呀!我和同事因觀點不同產生矛盾,心裡苦惱。神呀!求你帶領引導我。」

禱告後我的心平靜了一些,意識到自己對麗麗有成見,不合主的心意。主耶穌說:「『你要盡心、盡性、盡意、盡力,愛主你的神。』其次就是說:『要愛人如己。』再沒有比這兩條誡命更大的了。」(可12:30-31)主教導我們要愛人如己,要有度量,學會饒恕別人。主的話給了我實行的路途,我知道要想達到與人和睦同居,首先得對人有愛心、耐心,包容的心,要是總因著小事斤斤計較,就沒法在一起共事。再想想當我們做了不合主心意的事,主並沒有嫌棄我們,而是饒恕、憐憫我們,那我也得效法主耶穌,用愛來化解我和麗麗之間的矛盾。
之後,我又看到主耶穌說:「為什麼看見你弟兄眼中有刺,卻不想自己眼中有梁木呢?」(太7:3)我一直把眼光盯在麗麗身上,從來不認識自己,提出建議就想讓別人採納,別人不聽就對別人挑毛揀刺。每個人都有自由意識的選擇,我沒資格強迫別人必須聽我的,我太狂妄了!現在想想麗麗為了寫這份文案花費了好多精力和時間,我一下子否認了她的文案,她心裡肯定不好受,她這樣對待我,也是正常的,是我沒有體諒麗麗。

上班後,我主動找麗麗談心,跟麗麗道歉,承認自己沒有愛心,給她帶來了傷害。麗麗很爽快地原諒了我,我心裡鬆了口氣,又問麗麗看到我身上還有哪些缺少給我提出來,麗麗沒想到我會這樣說,她感動地說:「其實不全是你的錯,我也有不對的地方,我太堅持自己了,以後咱們互相幫助。」我笑著點點頭,麗麗也笑了。

感謝主!是主化解了我們之間的矛盾,給了我們永存的友情。

笔者:實意

Leave a Reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *