A Christian’s Sharing: The Three Paths to Getting Rid of the Harm of Jealousy

By Youxin

Jealousy is ugly. Once it takes root in our hearts, we’ll be thrown into spiritual turmoil, and not only will jealousy drive us to do something to hurt others, but it will also corrode us. As it’s said, “[W]rath kills the foolish man, and envy slays the silly one” (Job 5:2). I saw on the news that a girl cruelly killed her model sister because of envying her beauty, and ultimately she was sentenced to thirteen years’ imprisonment. There was also a high school student who murdered his classmate for envying his ranking first in the class, and afterward this student kept living in the shadow of pain.

These cases are horrifying. Although most people won’t do something extreme like those in the news, it is undeniable that jealousy is also harming us. Especially in work, when we see our colleagues with higher caliber, higher capability or better performance than us, and gain others’ admiration, we can’t help but become jealous and feel pain and distress. And we want them to make mistakes, and in severe cases, we can even exclude, attack and slander them, and even secretly cause mischief. Clearly, jealousy can cause us to become toxic and lose ourselves and reason. It must be said that jealousy is a spirit killer destroying ourselves.

Jealousy Comes From the Evil in Our Hearts

Then where does jealousy come from? It’s said in the Bible, “[I]f you have bitter envying and strife in your hearts, … This wisdom descends not from above, but is earthly, sensual, devilish” (James 3:14–15). “Thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lasciviousness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness: All these evil things come from within, and defile the man” (Mark 7:22–23). “[W]here envying and strife is, there is confusion and every evil work. But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be entreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace” (James 3:16–18).

We can understand from these verses that, what God bestows upon man are all positive things, such as peace, kindness and mercy, and that all kinds of evil things in the world are from the devil, that is, what Satan brings to man are all negative things, such as jealousy and disputes. After we were corrupted by Satan, Satan’s life rules such as “Men should always strive to be better than their contemporaries,” “There can only be one alpha male,” “A real man is not without venom” have deeply taken root in our hearts. This has made us become arrogant, conceited and competitive and always want to be the best in any group. Once we see someone better than us, we feel jealous, don’t want to listen to them, and then exclude, shun and belittle them, losing our normal relationships with them, and we also feel great pain. Just as Proverbs 14:30 says, “[E]nvy [is] the rottenness of the bones.”—this is absolutely right.

Though we don’t want to be a jealous person, most of the time, once in the right environment we can’t help but feel jealous. So how can we resolve the bondage of jealousy and live calmly and freely?

1.Be Grateful for God’s Bestowment, Just Be Ourselves and Don’t Compare Ourselves With Others

James 1:17 says, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights.” Galatians 5:26 says, “Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another.” These verses show us that everything we possess comes from God, and that even our gifts and specialties are also predetermined by God. Therefore, we don’t need to compare ourselves with others and should not envy or exclude others who are better than us, but instead should seek only to obey God’s orchestrations and arrangements and just be ourselves. Just like grass. Although it is ordinary and insignificant, not as beautiful as flowers and not as tall as trees, it also has missions bestowed by God: It can beautify our environment by silently adding a hint of green to the earth, and be used as animal food—it is an indispensable plant. So, we should obey God’s bestowment with gratitude and complete our missions.

2.Learn From Others’ Strengths and Make Up for Our Own Deficiencies

Everyone created by God has his strengths and has some aspects others should learn from. So, encountering various people is an opportunity to better make up for our shortcomings. Take Moses who was used by God to lead the Israelites out of Egypt, for example. Although Moses was appealing, he wasn’t good at speaking. So, God arranged Moses’ elder brother Aaron to practically help Moses. And Moses wasn’t jealous of Aaron, and with his help, Moses completed God’s commission better. Therefore, when we are in a place with someone more talented than us, we can view this matter from a different perspective and think like this: “Since he is better than us, we can learn from him when we don’t understand something. It’s an extra path for us.” Consider: If those around us are inferior to us, we may be satisfied with our current circumstances and refuse to go any further. This way, we then won’t make great progress in professional aspects or other aspects. However, if we interact with someone better than us and take a calm attitude of learning from them, then we will be able to absorb their strengths and make up for our shortcomings. Won’t we have received special favor then? Isn’t living this way very relaxing?

3.Call to the Lord to Deliver Us From the Bondage of Jealousy Because He Has Great Power

The Bible says, “You shall make your prayer to Him, and He shall hear you, and you shall pay your vows. You shall also decree a thing, and it shall be established to you: and the light shall shine on your ways” (Job 22:27–28). Jealousy comes from our evil, corrupt disposition; we ourselves are incapable of controlling it and only God can change us. Therefore, when we are bound by jealousy, we should pray to the Lord, asking Him to guide us and help us let it go. For example, we can pray like this, “O God, I can’t stand to see someone else be better and I’m jealous every time I see someone better than me. What kind of a person am I? This isn’t proper humanity. People like me don’t deserve to live. May You discipline me.” After that, we can make the following prayer, “God, please give me an obedient and humble heart, save me from my narrow-mindedness, and make me more generous in spirit, more magnanimous and live out a human likeness, so that I can avoid shaming You.” After practicing praying this way for a while, we will unknowingly become a little more generous in spirit. The next time we encounter someone more capable than us, we won’t feel so jealous, and will be able to accept them, interact normally with them and gradually have proper humanity.

I believe if we practice according to the three paths above, our spiritual bug will be fixed—we will be able to cast off the bondage of jealousy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

基督徒分享:摆脱嫉妒苦害的3条路途

嫉妒是醜惡的,一旦它扎根在我們的心靈,我們的内心世界將是荆棘叢生,不僅會刺傷他人,也會侵蝕自己。正所謂:「忿怒害死愚妄人;嫉妒殺死痴迷人。」(約伯記5:2)以往曾看到新聞中説一個姐姐因嫉妒當模特兒的妹妹太漂亮,就狠心殺害了妹妹,最終姐姐被判13年的監禁。還有一名中學生因嫉妒同學是班級第一名而將其殺害,一直都活在痛苦的陰影中。

這些案例,令人不寒而栗。雖然多數人不會做出像以上新聞中那麽極端的事情,但不可否認的是,嫉妒心也苦害着我們。特别是在工作中,當看到同事比自己有素質、才幹,業績也好,能得到衆人的贊賞,我們身不由己就會生出嫉妒之心,心裏痛苦難受,盼着對方出差錯,嚴重的還會排斥、打擊,惡語中傷對方,甚至暗地裏使壞。可見,嫉妒會使我們變得惡毒,讓人迷失自己,失去理智。不得不説,嫉妒是毁滅自我的心靈殺手!

嫉妒的毒瘤源于内心之惡

那嫉妒從何而來呢?聖經上説:「你們心裏若懷着苦毒的嫉妒和紛争,……乃是屬地的,屬情欲的,屬鬼魔的。」(雅各書3:14-15)「偷盗、凶殺、奸淫、貪婪、邪惡、詭詐、淫蕩、嫉妒、謗讟、驕傲、狂妄。這一切的惡都是從裏面出來,且能污穢人。」(馬可福音7:22-23)「在何處有嫉妒、紛争,就在何處有擾亂和各樣的壞事。惟獨從上頭來的智慧,先是清潔,後是和平,温良柔順,滿有憐憫,多結善果,没有偏見,没有假冒。并且使人和平的,是用和平所栽種的義果。」(雅各書3:16-18)

從經文中我們就能明白,神賜給人的是和平、善良、憐憫,都是正面事物,而人中間各樣的邪惡事物都是從魔鬼來的,即撒但帶給人的是嫉妒、紛争等,全是反面事物。想想我們被撒但敗壞後,撒但的生存法則「生當作人杰,死亦為鬼雄」、「一山不容二虎」、「無毒不丈夫」等深入内心,使我們變得狂妄自大,争强好勝,不管在哪個人群裏都想當最好的,一旦看見别人比我們好,我們就不服,就會嫉妒,繼而對人采取遠離、排斥、貶低,與人没有正常的人際關係,我們的内心也很痛苦,正如箴言書14章30節中説「嫉妒是骨中的朽爛」,説得一點不差。

很多時候我們也不想嫉妒别人,但一有合適的環境就身不由己,那麽我們該如何解决嫉妒的捆綁,活得坦然釋放呢?

一、感恩上帝的賜予,做好自己不與他人比較

《雅各書》1章17節:「各樣美善的恩賜和各樣全備的賞賜都是從上頭來的,從衆光之父那裏降下來的;……」《加拉太書》5章26節:「不要貪圖虚名,彼此惹氣,互相嫉妒。」從這些經文中看到,我們生命中所擁有的一切都是從上帝而來,就連恩賜、特長也是神早已命定好的,所以,我們無需拿自己去和别人比較,也不要因着别人高過自己就嫉妒、排斥,我們只求順服神的擺布安排,做好自己。就像一株平凡的小草,它看着很渺小,雖然不如鮮花艷麗,不如大樹高大,但也有上帝賦予它的使命,它能美化環境,默默無聞地為大地增添一份緑,也可以作為動物的食物,是不可或缺的植物。所以,我們應該存着感恩的心來順服神的賜予,完成好自己的使命。

二、學他人長處,補己之短

神造的每個人身上都有長處,有值得我們吸取、借鑒的地方。所以,我們能接觸到各樣的人,也是更好補足我們缺少的機會。就像神使用摩西帶領以色列民出埃及,摩西雖然也有一些號召力,但他不擅于表達,所以神在他身邊安排哥哥亞倫實際地幫助他,但摩西并没有嫉妒亞倫,而是藉着亞倫的幫助,更好地完成了神的托付。所以,當我們碰到身邊的人比自己强時,可以换個角度看問題,「他比咱們强,咱們有些事不明白咱向他學,這不又多一條路嗎?」試想,如果我們身邊都是不如自己的人,那我們就會滿足現狀、裹足不前,那麽,不管是自己的業務還是其他方面都不會得到很好的提升。但當我們抱着一種坦然學習的態度跟比自己强的人一塊兒相處,我們就可以吸取對方的長處,補足自己的不足,我們不就偏得一份了嗎?這樣活得不就輕鬆了嗎?

三、主的力量是强大的,呼求他擺脱嫉妒的捆綁

聖經上説:「你要禱告他,他就聽你;你也要還你的願。你定意要做何事,必然給你成就;亮光也必照耀你的路。」(約伯記22:27-28)嫉妒人是出于我們罪惡的敗壞性情,我們自己無法掌控,唯有神能變化我們。所以,當我們被嫉妒捆綁時,應該禱告主,求主來帶領、幫助我們放下心中的嫉妒。比如我們可以這樣禱告:「神啊,我就見不得人好,看見比我好的就嫉妒,這是什麽人呢?這也不是正常人性啊,這樣的人真不配活着,願神管教我。」然後再禱告,「求神加給我一顆順服、謙卑的心,拯救我脱離狹窄心胸,讓我的心胸能寬闊一點,度量大一點,活出個人樣來,免得羞辱你。」就這麽禱告操練一段時間後,我們的心胸不知不覺就寬闊一點了,再遇着比自己强的,嫉妒心就没那麽大了,就能容納下别人了,與他人正常相處了,人性慢慢就正常了。

相信我們按着以上三條路途實行,心靈的漏洞就能得到修復,就能擺脱嫉妒的捆綁。

筆者:有心

Leave a Reply

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *