How She Escaped the Attack of African Swine Fever

In August, 2018, an imposing African swine fever suddenly broke out. As it spread to China, many provinces and cities in the northeast and south of the country suffered its attack, and the spread of this disease received lots of coverage in all major media outlets. In the most affected areas, pork was pulled off the market and infected pigs were electrocuted, burned, or buried in large numbers. To those pig farmers, this plague undoubtedly came as a heavy blow, among whom some lost a yearly income while some even ended up going bankrupt and heavily in debt. As a pig farmer in the infected area who tended pigs the same way as others did, I, however, managed to emerge from panic and anxiety and experienced God’s wonderful deeds under the guidance of His words. Every time I think back on this experience, deep emotions well up within me …

Because of my poor health, I couldn’t go out to work and my husband didn’t have a job either, and our family raised pigs for a living. In 2018, we kept nearly 100 pigs, and we were looking forward to the day when they became fully grown so that we could sell them to pay our daily expenses.

One afternoon in August when I was visiting a friend in a neighboring village, she asked me anxiously, “Have your pigs died?” “No,” I replied. “Why?” “You don’t know that?” said she in surprise. “There is a plague raging here, and almost all the pigs in our village have died.” Upon hearing this news, I felt like my head was all abuzz. Before, I had heard that there was a swine fever in the South, but I’d never expected that it would spread to our village so soon. I then thought of several pigs we had which died last month—could it be that they had been infected with the swine fever? My friend then said, “Other pig farmers whose pigs got infected earlier have sold the uninfected ones. You should also do something. But I’m afraid it’s already too late.” At that time, my heart was in great turmoil and I immediately rushed back home. As soon as I got home, I made calls to all the butchers I knew to see whether I could sell my pigs to them. To my surprise, none of them wanted my pigs and they said, “The plague is so terrible now that even the expressway has been closed and nobody is allowed in or out. No one is buying pigs now.” Hearing this, my heart sank. I thought: “It’s over. Our village is an infected area. If we can’t sell the healthy pigs, won’t they eventually all die? What should I do?” I hurried to discuss this matter with my husband and son, who, after learning about the situation, immediately fumigated and cleaned the pigsty. After that, however, my heart still couldn’t calm down.

That night, I rolled to and fro in my bed, unable to sleep, and my heart was held in suspense. I kept pondering: “How much will we lose if all our pigs die? How are we going to live in the future?” As I thought about this, I suddenly realized that I hadn’t come before God to pray and seek His will in such a major circumstance. So I immediately prayed to God, “O God, I’m scared that our pigs would get infected with the swine fever and wouldn’t sell so that our hard work over the past year would go to waste. God, I know this situation has Your approval. May You lead me to understand Your will.” After the prayer, my heart calmed down a little, but I was still worried that our pigs would die. My heart was constantly in turmoil and I didn’t sleep a wink the whole night.

The next day, my daughter-in-law came back from a trip. After learning about this matter, she came to comfort me, saying, “Mom, you’re still sick, so you shouldn’t be worried or anxious. Don’t worry about those pigs. As believers in God, we should believe that everything God does is good and is beneficial to us. Do you remember Job’s experiences in the Bible? When he lost all of his immense wealth and all of his sons and daughters, he was able to take a rational approach to all this without making any complaints to God. He believed that everything happening to him, be it good or bad, was authorized by God, and was able to say, ‘Jehovah gave, and Jehovah has taken away; blessed be the name of Jehovah’ (Job 1:21). In the end, he relied on his faith to stand firm in his testimony to God. Job’s faith in God is something we should emulate. Although we don’t understand what God’s will is, we should first submit and believe in His sovereignty and arrangements. Without God’s permission, no matter how fierce this plague is, it can’t kill our pigs.” Hearing what my daughter-in-law said, I came to understand how I should treat this plague. I said, “It’s true. Whether we are rich or poor is ordained by God, and money is not earned because we want to earn it. If God deprives us through the plague, we should also obey Him, and no matter how much we may lose, we must obey God’s orchestrations and arrangements.” After talking with my daughter-in-law for a while, I felt a little better.

In the days that followed, there were more pig farmers in my village whose pigs got infected and died off. Each time I heard such news, I would feel very anxious and then constantly pray to God in my heart, saying, “God, please protect my heart so that I could accept all this from You. No matter whether my pigs die or not, I only beg You to protect my heart so that I wouldn’t complain about You and could obey Your orchestrations and arrangements.” During those few days, I kept praying to God, entrusting this matter to Him and asking Him to free me from the concern and worry for my wealth and personal interests, and enable me to experience this situation with an obedient heart.

Four or five days later, a butcher suddenly came to my home and offered to buy my pigs. Upon hearing this, I was stunned and couldn’t believe that there was someone who still wanted pigs given such a terrible swine fever. When the butcher saw the pigs we raised, he was greatly surprised and asked with wonder, “The epidemic situation is so serious now that others’ pigs all died, but yours have not even got infected. How did you tend to them?” Knowing it was all because of God’s care and protection, I really wanted to testify to him about God’s wondrous deeds, but when I thought that the CCP government was persecuting religious belief and that if my belief in God became known, I would be in danger of being imprisoned, I just replied, “Maybe it was because I have been lighting mosquito incense in the pigsty every night.” Hearing me say this, the butcher said jokingly, “Don’t light mosquito incense for the pigs any longer. You should burn incense to thank God.” Afterward, he got on his truck and drove away. Watching the truck jolting away, I couldn’t help thinking, “Before, I have called many butchers but none of them wanted my pigs. Yet today there was someone who took the initiative to buy my pigs. It was God who opened a way out for me.”

Later, in the days when the epidemic situation was most terrible, there were so many dead pigs that even 9 trucks sent from the city were not enough to contain them. An old lady in her 70s in my village said in astonishment, “I’ve lived for so long but have never seen such a horrible swine fever. It is fairly rare.” After the plague died out, there were only 70 pigs left alive in the five villages nearby, of which 38 were ours, and all the other pigs in my village died. This plague not only killed a large number of pigs, but when it was at its worst, there were people in a neighboring village who got infected and died of fever. Fortunately, my family was all safe and sound, and I knew all this was because of God’s wonderful protection.

This experience allowed me to see that we humans are so small that we would only feel panicked, miserable and helpless when disasters befall, and that none of us or government departments can do anything about it. In the face of disasters, only when we come before God and worship Him can we gain His care and protection and find ease and peace. Only God is the One we can rely on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

「非洲豬瘟」來襲,她如何躲過一劫

2018年8月份,一場「非洲豬瘟」來勢凶猛,疫情蔓延到中國。一時間,東北和南方多個省市都遭到豬瘟侵襲,各大媒體幾乎每天都在報道感染「非洲豬瘟」的情況。豬肉在疫情嚴重的市場全部下架,大量感染病毒的生豬被電死、火燒、掩埋。這次的瘟疫對於養豬專業戶來說,是一個慘重的打擊。輕者損失一年的收入,重者傾家蕩產,負債累累。然而,都是在疫區,都是以同樣的方式養豬,我卻因有神話語的帶領,才從慌亂和焦急中走出來,經歷到了神的奇妙作為。每當回想起這段經歷我都激動不已……

我身體不好,不能上班,丈夫也沒有工作,全家單靠養豬生活。今年,我們養了近百頭豬,本想著等這一窩豬出欄了,我們以後的生活就有著落了。

8月份的一天下午,我去鄰屯朋友家串門,朋友著急地問我:「你家豬死沒死?」我說:「沒死啊,怎麼了?」她驚訝地說:「你還不知道呢?現在來瘟疫了,全村的豬死得沒剩多少了。」聽到這個消息,我的頭「嗡」一下子就大了,早先只是聽說南方有豬瘟這事,沒想到這麼快就蔓延到我們這兒了。這時,我一下想到一個月前家裡突然死了幾頭豬,難道那就是得上豬瘟了?這時朋友又說:「人家得病早的豬都賣了,你也趕緊想辦法吧!但估計來不及了。」此時我的心翻江倒海的,二話沒說掉頭就往家裡趕,一到家就趕緊給殺豬的打電話,看能不能把豬賣出去。沒想到給誰打電話人家都說不要了,還說:「現在瘟疫這麼嚴重,高速公路都封了,裡不出外不進。沒有人再買豬了!」我一聽這話,心咯噔一下,心想:這回完了,這可是疫區啊!剩下的豬賣不出去,不都得死了嗎?這可怎麼辦?我趕緊找兒子和老伴商量,他們聽後趕緊給豬圈進行煙薰、殺毒、清洗。就這樣一陣緊張的忙碌過後,我的心還是安靜不下來。

到了晚上,我躺在床上翻來覆去睡不著,心始終在半空懸著,琢磨著如果這些豬都死了,會損失多少錢,以後的生活怎麼辦。想著想著我突然意識到,今天臨到這麼大的環境,我都沒來到神面前禱告,尋求神的心意。這時,我趕緊向神禱告:「神啊,現在我很害怕豬感染瘟疫賣不出去,怕這一年的努力都白費了。神啊,我知道環境臨到有你的許可,願你帶領我從中明白你的心意。」禱告後,我的心安靜一些了,但還是擔心這些豬都死了,心忽上忽下的,一夜沒合眼。

第二天,兒媳出門回來,聽說了這件事,過來安慰我說:「媽呀!你身體還病著呢,先不要著急上火,咱們是信神的,不要為這些豬擔憂,相信神作的一切都是好的,對咱們都有益處。你想想聖經上記載的約伯的經歷,他在失去萬貫家產和兒女的時候,能有理性地對待這一切,也沒埋怨神,他相信不管好事壞事臨到都有神的許可,並說出『賞賜的是耶和華,收取的也是耶和華;耶和華的名是應當稱頌的』(約伯記1:21)這樣的話,他憑著信心為神站住了見證。咱們也應該效法約伯對神的信心啊,雖然咱不明白神的心意是什麼,但咱先順服下來,相信神的主宰安排。如果沒有神的許可,即使瘟疫再厲害,咱家的豬也不會死。」聽兒媳這麼說,我心裡明白了應該怎麼對待這場瘟疫,我說:「是啊,人的窮富都是神命定好的,不是人想掙就能掙來的,如果神藉著瘟疫剝奪我們,我們也應該順服神,不管損失多少都順服神的擺佈安排。」我和兒媳聊了一會兒,心情也好一些了。

接下來幾天,屯裡又有幾戶的豬陸續染上瘟疫死了,每次聽到別人家死豬的消息,我都很擔心。這時我就在心裡不住地向神禱告,求神保守我一切能從神領受,不管我家的豬能不能死,只求神保守我千萬別生發埋怨的心,能順服神的擺佈安排!那幾天,我天天向神禱告,把這件事交託在神手中,求神幫助我不再為錢財利益擔憂、顧慮,存著一顆順服神的心來經歷這件事。

過了四五天,有一個殺豬的來我家,要買我家的豬。聽到這個消息,我驚呆了,沒想到現在豬瘟這麼嚴重,還有買豬的。殺豬的看到我家的豬也驚呆了,好奇地問:「現在瘟疫這麼嚴重,別人家的豬都死沒了,你家豬還沒得病,你咋養的?」我知道這一切都是神的看顧保守。此時,我真想跟他見證神的奇妙作為,但想到中共政府迫害宗教信仰,我信神的事如果傳出去,就有坐牢的危險,所以我只能說:「哦,可能和這些日子天天晚上給豬點蚊香有關吧!」他開玩笑地說:「你別給豬點蚊香了,趕快燒高香去吧!」說完上車就走了。看著搖搖晃晃走遠的車,我心想:之前我給好幾個殺豬的人打電話,他們都說不要了,現在竟然有人主動上門來買豬,這真是神給我開闢出路啊!

後來,瘟疫最嚴重那幾天,本市9台拉死豬的車都拉不完,連屯裡的一位70多歲的老太太都驚訝地說:「我活這麼大歲數,還沒見過這麼嚴重的豬瘟,真是罕見呀!」豬瘟過後,我們附近的5個村剩70頭豬,我家佔38頭,本村中就我家有豬,別人家的豬都死沒了。而且這次的疫情不僅使大量的豬感染死亡,最嚴重的那段時間,附近村也有人因感染豬瘟病毒高燒不退而死亡的事,但我的家人都很健康,我知道這一切都是神的奇妙保守。

這次經歷讓我看到,人在災難面前表現出來的只有恐懼戰兢、痛苦無助。臨到災難,任何人或政府部門都無能為力,人類太渺小了。面對災難,我們只有來到神面前敬拜神,才能蒙神的看顧保守,活得踏實平安,神才是人唯一的依靠。

Leave a Reply

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *